The 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medals were awarded to following reseachers in 2014.

Press Release on Winners of the 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medals in 2014_(English)
Press Release on Winners of the 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medals in 2014_(Japanese)

The 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medal -Grand Medal- (2014)

  Roland Wiesendanger (born in 1961)

Professor in University of Hamburg, Germany

For his pioneering and ground-breaking achievements on spin-resolved scanning tunneling microscopy and spectroscopy, bringing about very deep insights in spin-related properties of materials at atomic scale

Award Achievements

The 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medal -Rising Medal- (2014)

  Yoshiaki Sugimoto (born in 1978)

Associate Professor in Osaka University, Japan

For his outstanding contributions to manipulation and chemical identification
of individual atoms using atomic force microscopy

Award Achievements Award Lecture

The 1st Heinrich Rohrer Medal -Rising Medal- (2014)

  Jan Hugo Dil (born in 1977)

SNSF Professor in Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland

For his leading and creative roles in identifying novel spin structures using
synchrotron radiation-based spin- and angle-resolved photoemission

Award Achievements

The Awarding Ceremony
The ceremony was held on November 5, 2014 at Vogel Park in Matsue City, Shimane Prefecture, Japan,
at the beginning of the banquet of ISSS-7. After a brief report on the selection result given by Professor Masaru Tsukada,
Chair of the the Award Committee, the Medals were awarded by Dr. Matthias Frey, Head of Science and Technology
Division at Embassy of Switzerland in Japan.

The awarding is also reported on Web pages and Blog;
-  Embassy of Switzerland in Japan
IBM Research Blog
-  University of Hamburg
-  Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

(Left) High-Resolution Image (Right) High-Resolution Image

The Award Lecture

The award lectures were provided in ISSS-7.

Operated with IBM Research-Zurich

Cosponsored by @@@

Supported by

The Surface Science Society of Japan (SSSJ)