This web site requires JavaScript. Please turn on JavaScript of your Web Browser for proper looking and functioning. In addition, this site is assumed to be browsed by one of the latest versions of Microsoft Edge, Apple Safari, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox. It is strongly recommended to use a newest browser for security measures.
ALC '22
14th International Symposium on Atomic Level
Characterizations for New Materials and Devices '22
October 16 (Sun) – 21 (Fri), 2022
Bankoku Shinryokan, Okinawa JAPAN

This web site is UNDER CONSTRUCTION.
All content currently posted is TENTATIVE.

General Info for Speakers for Participants Awards/Supports Other Info
News/Dates About ALC/Venue Scientific Topics Invited Speakers Sponsors/Supports Committees

Latest News

2021-04-19: We are now preparing for postponed symposium (ALC'21→ALC'22). Please wait for a while for concrete information.

Important Dates

The following dates are tentative.

Abstract Deadline: May 10, 2022
Preliminary Program: Aug 1, 2022
Early Registration Deadline: Aug 13, 2022
First Day of the Symposium: Oct 16, 2022
Publication Manuscript (e-JSSNT): Dec 12, 2022
Publication Manuscript (JVSTB): Mar 22, 2023

ALC Symposium

The series of international symposia entitled “Atomic Level Characterization (ALC)” started in 1996 with the meeting in Kyoto, Japan. The ALC symposia focus on practical applications of atomic level characterization (both atomic dimensions and energy levels) of new materials and devices, including bio- and organic materials as well as inorganics. Descriptions of new applications and instrumentation for various analytical techniques of surface and interface analysis are solicited in these symposia. The goal is to promote stimulating discussions among researchers specializing in different probe methods. The symposium also encourages discussion of fundamental problems to be solved in the further development of atomic level characterization of materials, including approaches based on theory and simulations.

The 2nd ALC symposium was held at Maui (Hawaii) in 1997, the 3rd one at Nara (Japan) in 2001, the 4th at Kauai (Hawaii) in 2003, the 5th Kailua-Kona (Hawaii) in 2005, the 6th at Kanazawa (Japan) in 2007, the 7th at Maui (Hawaii) in 2009, the 8th at Seoul (Korea) in 2011, the 9th at Kona (Hawaii) in 2013, the 10th at Matsue (Japan) in 2015, and 11th at Kauai (Hawaii) in 2017, the 12th at Kyoto(Japan). It is time to gather again for ALC'21, which will be held in Okinawa, Japan. From this time, the sponsor will change from Japan Society for Promotion of Science (JSPS) to the Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science (JVSS).

The official language of the symposium is English.


About Okinawa

Okinawa locates in the southernmost part of Japan, and belongs to the Ryukyu islands which is a chain of isolated islands extend over 1,000 km from south of Kyusyu (one of main islands of Japan) to Taiwan. Historically, the Ryukyu Kingdom first unified Okinawa islands in 1429 and strived to promote cultural exchange through trade with China and Southeast Asia. The first king Shō Hashi built Shuri Castle in Naha, which is the present seat of the Okinawa prefectural government. Unfortunately Shuri Castle was destroyed by a fire in the last year. After the invasion of Satsuma in 1609, Ryukyu became a part of Japan’s shogunate system. In 1879, Japanese government established Okinawa prefecture, which was the disruption of the Ryukyu Kingdom. After the World War II, Okinawa placed under American rule, and was reverted to Japan in 1972.

You can find useful information on Okinawa in the following URL.

Okinawa has so much to offer including the beautiful sea, natural forests, world heritage sites with long histories, a unique food culture and more. Okinawa belongs to a subtropical climate having a warm climate throughout the year. So let’s join us and enjoy the tropical island life at Okinawa in 2021.

About Bankoku Shinryokan Okinawa Resort MICE Facility

Bankoku Shinryokan is located in the center of the main island of Okinawa, about 75km away from Naha International Airport. The best location conditions facing the the East China Sea. It is the Resort MICE venue focused on international exchange in the 21st century and established as the main Convention Center for the 2000 Kyushu-Okinawa G8 Summit and has hosted many MICE.

Scientific Topics

The sessions will cover the following topics:

  1. Fundamental Phenomena
    • electron/ion/photon -solid interactions
    • emission phenomena of light, electrons, and ions
  2. Characterization by Electrons / Ions / Infrared / Ultraviolet / X-rays
    • AES / XPS / XPED / EPMA / ISS / MEIS / RBS / SIMS / IR / etc.
  3. Imaging Techniques
    • TEM / STEM / AEM / SEM / SAM / REM / LEEM / PEEM
    • SPM / FIM / TOF-SIMS / optical molecular imaging / ultrafast imaging / etc.
  4. Applications for Nanotechnology
    • nanowires / nanotubes / nanoparticles / graphene and 2D materials
    • solid-solid / solid-liquid interfaces
  5. Advanced Materials Characterization
    • spintronics materials
    • environmental and advanced energy materials
    • cosmic and terrestrial materials
  6. Special Sessions
    • Micro-analysis using novel quantum beam
    • Evolution of scanning probe techniques for materials analysis
    • Operando spectroscopy and ambient pressure measurements
    • Materials informatics and machine learning
    • Quantum sensing in metrology and imaging
    • Ion beam analysis for nano & bio materials
  7. Tutorials

Invited Speakers

Please wait for a while until the announcement of the invited speakers.

Sponsors and Supports

Call for Exhibitions and Advertisements

Sponsorship of ALC'22 symposium comes with the opportunity for substantial exposure to a focused audience. Details of the sponsorship will be announced here soon.

Committee Members

International Advisory Committee

Chair: Hiroshi Daimon (Toyota Riken)
Member: M.S. Altman, F. Aumayr, E. Bauer, W. Eberhardt, K.-H. Ernst, H. Freund, K. Fukutani, F.J. Giessibl, T. Greber, S. Hasegawa, T. Hasegawa, Y. Homma, T. Koshikawa, H. Lichte, J. Matsuo, R. Oiwa, H. Rose, Y. Saito, M. Scheffler, C. Schneider, W.D. Schneider, M. Sugiyama, T. Takeuchi, G. Thornton, W. Widdra, R. Wiesendanger, H.W. Yoem

Organizing Committee

Chair: Hidemi Shigekawa (University of Tsukuba)
Member: P. Bauer, H. Daimon, K. Dohmae, J. Falta, D. Fujita, M.H. Haegen, T. Hasebe, S. Hasegawa, F. Meyer zu Heringdorf, H. Hibino, T. Hirayama, I.S. Hwang, S. Ichimura, M. Kambe, J. Kawai, T. Kawano, K. Kimura, T. Kohashi, T. Koshikawa, A. Locatelli, E. Lundgren, G. Mizutani, K. Morita, K. Obori, R. Oiwa, H. Petek, Y. Saito, T. Sato, A. Schmid, M. Setou, H. Shimoyama, S. Shiraki, S. Suzuki, Y. Takai, Y. Takakuwa, W. Tang, S. Tanuma, Y. Watanabe, J. Watts, T. Yasue, H. Yurimoto

Steering Committee

Co-chair: Tetsuya Hasegawa (University of Tokyo) , Retsu Oiwa (Scienta Omicron)
Vice-chair: T. Yasue, J. Matsuo, M. Sugiyama
Advisor: T. Koshikawa, K. Obori
Secretariat General: H. Nakahara
Secretariat: S. Shiraki, T. Hayasaka, S. Nagai
Member: K. Dohmae, T. Hasegawa, S. Hashimoto, S. Imashuku, M. Nojima, E. Nomura, T. Sakamoto, J. Sameshima, N. Sanada, S. Suzuki, A. Takano, K. Tanaka, T. Tanaka, K. Yanagiuchi

Finance Committee

Co-chair: Hisayoshi Yurimoto (Hokkaido University) , Tomoshige Sato (JEOL)
Vice-chair: S. Awata, H. Furukawa, Y. Miyatake, N. Sanada

Program Committee

Chair: Jiro Matsuo (Kyoto University)
Vice-chair: K. Fukutani, S. Shiraki
Advisor: T. Koshikawa, K. Yanagiuchi
Secretariat: S. Awata, T. Kohashi
Member: K. Dohmae, K. Kitamura, R. Kokawa, T. Nagatomi, T. Sakamoto, M. Sugiyama

Publication Committee

Chair: Hiroki Hibino (Kwansei Gakuin University)
Vice-chair: S. Aoyagi, F. Matsui
Secretariat: S. Imashuku, Y. Kawano
MBA Organized by The Division of Microbeam Analysis,
The Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science (JVSS)