This web site requires JavaScript. Please turn on JavaScript of your Web Browser for proper looking and functioning. In addition, this site is assumed to be browsed by one of the latest versions of Microsoft Edge, Apple Safari and Google Chrome. It is strongly recommended to use a newest browser for security measures.
ALC'21 Online
13th International Symposium on Atomic Level
Characterizations for New Materials and Devices '21
October 19 (Tue) – 20 (Wed), 2021
General Info for Speakers for Participants Awards Other Info
News/Dates About ALC Scientific Topics Invited Speakers Sponsors/Supports Committees

Latest News

2021-07-20: Thank you very much for your patience. Abstract submission site is now officially open. Abstracts submitted prior to the official opening (July 20, 2021) must be resubmitted. Registration site for participants (other than speakers) will open in late August.
2021-06-15: ALC'21 will have an online event which consists of plenary and tutorial talks, and poster sessions to encourage young researchers including students. We call this event as “ALC’21 Online” although this will not be a full-size symposium.
2021-06-15: ALC'21 in Okinawa will be postponed to the next year as ALC'22. Instead, we will be hosting a pre-meeting online this year to promote ALC'22. We are looking forward to gathering in Okinawa next year.
2020-12-22: At the moment, we are preparing to hold a hybrid or online event on schedule. Please wait for a while until the official information is released.
2020-11-19: The 1st circular of this symposium will be published online by the end of February 2021.

Important Dates

Abstract Deadline: Sep 1, 2021
Preliminary Program: Sep 10, 2021
Short Video Deadline: Oct 1, 2021
Registration Deadline: Oct 8, 2021
First Day of the Symposium: Oct 19, 2021
Publication Manuscript: Dec 12, 2021

ALC Symposium

The series of international symposia entitled “Atomic Level Characterization (ALC)” started in 1996 with the meeting in Kyoto, Japan. The ALC symposia focus on practical applications of atomic level characterization (both atomic dimensions and energy levels) of new materials and devices, including bio- and organic materials as well as inorganics. Descriptions of new applications and instrumentation for various analytical techniques of surface and interface analysis are solicited in these symposia. The goal is to promote stimulating discussions among researchers specializing in different probe methods. The symposium also encourages discussion of fundamental problems to be solved in the further development of atomic level characterization of materials, including approaches based on theory and simulations.

The 2nd ALC symposium was held at Maui (Hawaii) in 1997, the 3rd one at Nara (Japan) in 2001, the 4th at Kauai (Hawaii) in 2003, the 5th Kailua-Kona (Hawaii) in 2005, the 6th at Kanazawa (Japan) in 2007, the 7th at Maui (Hawaii) in 2009, the 8th at Seoul (Korea) in 2011, the 9th at Kona (Hawaii) in 2013, the 10th at Matsue (Japan) in 2015, and 11th at Kauai (Hawaii) in 2017, the 12th at Kyoto(Japan) in 2019.

In 2020, the sponsor of this symposium was transferred from Japan Society for Promotion of Science (JSPS) to the Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science (JVSS). ALC'21 was initially planned to be held in Okinawa, however, because of the COVID-19 pandemic, it was postponed to 2022 as ALC'22. Instead, ALC'21 will be held online as a pre-meeting for ALC'22.

The official language of the symposium is English.

Scientific Topics

The sessions will cover the following topics:

  1. Fundamental Phenomena
    • electron/ion/photon -solid interactions
    • emission phenomena of light, electrons, and ions
  2. Characterization by Electrons / Ions / Infrared / Ultraviolet / X-rays
    • AES / XPS / XPED / EPMA / ISS / MEIS / RBS / SIMS / IR / etc.
  3. Imaging Techniques
    • TEM / STEM / AEM / SEM / SAM / REM / LEEM / PEEM
    • SPM / FIM / TOF-SIMS / optical molecular imaging / ultrafast imaging / etc.
  4. Applications for Nanotechnology
    • nanowires / nanotubes / nanoparticles / graphene and 2D materials
    • solid-solid / solid-liquid interfaces
  5. Advanced Materials Characterization
    • spintronics materials
    • environmental and advanced energy materials
    • cosmic and terrestrial materials
  6. Special Sessions
    • Micro-analysis using novel quantum beam
    • Evolution of scanning probe techniques for materials analysis
    • Operando spectroscopy and ambient pressure measurements
    • Materials informatics and machine learning
    • Quantum sensing in metrology and imaging
    • Ion beam analysis for nano & bio materials
  7. Tutorials

Plenary Talks

Prof. Kawai
Prof. Maki KAWAI (Institute for Molecular Science)
Prof. Dr. Frank-J. MEYER ZU HERINGDORF (University Duisburg-Essen)

Tutorial Lectures

Prof. Aono
Prof. Masakazu AONO (MANA/NIMS)
“Nano world pioneered by surface science and technology”
Prof.Dr. Lichte
Prof. Dr. Hannes LICHTE (Technische Universität Dresden)
Prof.Dr. Fox
Prof. Neil FOX (University of Bristol)

Sponsors and Supports

Host Organization


Premium Sponsors

Focus GmbH Focus GmbH
Scienta Omicron, Inc. Scienta Omicron, Inc.

Special Sponsors

Hitachi High-Technologies Corporation Hitachi High-Technologies Corporation
ThermoFisher Scientific ThermoFisher Scientific
TOYO Corporation TOYO Corporation

Standard Sponsors



Kaihatsu Jutaku 21 Kaihatsu Jutaku 21

Committee Members

International Advisory Committee

Chair: Hiroshi Daimon (Toyota Riken)
Member: M.S. Altman, F. Aumayr, E. Bauer, W. Eberhardt, K.-H. Ernst, H. Freund, K. Fukutani, F.J. Giessibl, T. Greber, S. Hasegawa, T. Hasegawa, Y. Homma, T. Koshikawa, H. Lichte, J. Matsuo, R. Oiwa, H. Rose, Y. Saito, M. Scheffler, C. Schneider, W.D. Schneider, M. Sugiyama, T. Takeuchi, G. Thornton, W. Widdra, R. Wiesendanger, H.W. Yoem

Organizing Committee

Chair: Hidemi Shigekawa (University of Tsukuba)
Member: P. Bauer, H. Daimon, K. Dohmae, J. Falta, D. Fujita, M.H. Haegen, T. Hasebe, S. Hasegawa, F. Meyer zu Heringdorf, H. Hibino, T. Hirayama, I.S. Hwang, S. Ichimura, M. Kambe, J. Kawai, T. Kawano, K. Kimura, T. Kohashi, T. Koshikawa, A. Locatelli, E. Lundgren, G. Mizutani, K. Morita, K. Obori, R. Oiwa, H. Petek, Y. Saito, T. Sato, A. Schmid, M. Setou, H. Shimoyama, S. Shiraki, S. Suzuki, Y. Takai, Y. Takakuwa, W. Tang, S. Tanuma, Y. Watanabe, J. Watts, T. Yasue, H. Yurimoto

Steering Committee

Co-chair: Tetsuya Hasegawa (University of Tokyo) , Retsu Oiwa (Scienta Omicron)
Vice-chair: T. Yasue, J. Matsuo, M. Sugiyama
Advisor: T. Koshikawa, K. Obori
Secretariat General: H. Nakahara
Secretariat: S. Shiraki, T. Hayasaka, S. Nagai
Member: K. Dohmae, T. Hasegawa, S. Hashimoto, S. Imashuku, M. Nojima, E. Nomura, T. Sakamoto, J. Sameshima, N. Sanada, S. Suzuki, A. Takano, K. Tanaka, T. Tanaka, K. Yanagiuchi

Finance Committee

Co-chair: Hisayoshi Yurimoto (Hokkaido University) , Tomoshige Sato (JEOL)
Vice-chair: S. Awata, H. Furukawa, Y. Miyatake, N. Sanada

Program Committee

Chair: Jiro Matsuo (Kyoto University)
Vice-chair: K. Fukutani, S. Shiraki
Advisor: T. Koshikawa, K. Yanagiuchi
Secretariat: S. Awata, T. Kohashi
Member: K. Dohmae, K. Kitamura, R. Kokawa, T. Nagatomi, T. Sakamoto, M. Sugiyama

Publication Committee

Chair: Hiroki Hibino (Kwansei Gakuin University)
Vice-chair: S. Aoyagi, F. Matsui
Secretariat: S. Imashuku, Y. Kawano
ScientaOmicron SPECS
Hitachi High-Technologies ThermoFisher TOYO Corporation
KaihatsuJutaku21 TSUJICON
MBA Organized by The Division of Microbeam Analysis,
The Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science (JVSS)