The 4th Heinrich Rohrer Medals will be awarded to following reseachers.

Press Release on Winners of the 4th Heinrich Rohrer Medals in 2024_(English)

The 4th Heinrich Rohrer Medal -Grand Medal- (2024)

  Franz J. Giessibl

Universität Regensburg, Germany

For the invention of the qPlus force sensor, which proved that sub-atomic spatial resolution is achievable in atomic force microscopy (AFM) and scanning probe microscopy (SPM), revolutionizing their range of applications for both AFM and SPMerties of magnetic atoms on surfaces for revealing the quantum nature of the magnetism at the atomic scale.

Award Achievements

  Wilson Ho

University of California, Irvine, USA

For the development of scanning tunneling microscopy-based inelastic electron tunneling spectroscopy (STM-IETS), enabling the detection of various chemical and physical properties of single atoms and molecules, thereby opening up quantitative science by STM.

Award Achievements

The 4th Heinrich Rohrer Medal -Rising Medal- (2024)

  Yi Chen (born in 1992)

Peking University, China

For the pioneering contributions that have pushed the boundaries of scanning tunneling microscopy along two directions which are the creation of the first atomic scale multi-qubit platform and the innovative visualization of exotic excitations in a quantum spin liquid."

Award Achievements

  Miyabi Imai-Imada (born in 1988)

RIKEN, Japan

For the significant achievement of the first atomic-scale visualization of photocurrent channels within a single molecule by the development of resonant fluorescence utilizing tunable laser techniques for single-molecule spectroscopy.

Award Achievements

Operated with IBM Research-Zurich  

Cosponsored by    

The Japan Society of Vacuum and Surface Science (JVSS)